The Field

When I was in Cameroon, I came across this soccer field and I found myself going there everyday to watch people play. One time, I found a group of kids and I started to play with them. They were amazed, but little did they know, I had been playing soccer my entire life. We played under the sun for hours. Most of us had no shoes on, and my feet were turning reddish-orange from the dirt. I had probably stepped on so many things that hurt, but I didn’t even notice because all I felt was pure happiness.

11253886_1096647700348641_953507880303668805_o.jpg

Soccer/futbol is so much more than just a sport. It unites people from all over the world and doesn’t discriminate along lines of race, gender, class, nationality, religion, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status.

I can’t wait for the day that I am able to play on this field again with children running freely, full of laughter, love, and happiness. Cameroonians taught me to live in the moment, and that is exactly what happens here. This field changed my life.

11270453_1096647697015308_1701926022745756398_o

Warmest, Lauren K.

Leave a Reply

